Stairway to Heaven!

When you are despised,
Spoken evil about
Be not dismayed nor cringe
Rather pause and think
If you gossiped insane
About else or anyone

When you are rejected,
Shut out from groups
Be not dismayed nor cringe
Rather pause and think
If you banged the door
On others or clicked off your phone

When you are cheated,
Fooled or ridiculed
Be not dismayed nor cringe
Rather pause and think
If you fooled someone
Albeit minor kid or was it none?

When you realise
You’ve been set up for failure
Be not dismayed nor cringe
Rather pause and think
If you ever did the same
To someone else in your life

So, I found this better way in Christ
To deal with inconsistencies of life
Instead of cowering in self-pity
I’d rather rise and use the opportunity

Instead of judging others
I’d rather scan my character
Instead of sweating over small stuff
I’d rather my weaknesses snuff

Almost every check and scan
Reveals wickedness of my inner man
I quickly ask forgiveness from Christ
To repent His Grace doth suffice

It seems stupid and painful initially
But as you practise daily
An inward cleansing you engage
Can’t miss that remarkable change

Fellow Christian, I am a work-in-progress
So if you see me way below standards
Please look at Christ as He helps me
Gradually His character exchanging with me

Narrow maybe the treading path
Best is the blood-stained promenade
Where every adversity hurled
Into a stepping stone it turns

Am astounded at the speed
You and I can gallop ahead
Though evil in seamless proportion
With Christ, it’s a stairway to heaven!

One thought on “Stairway to Heaven!

Thank you for stopping by. :)

