I Am Happy I Quit! (a poem)

I loved my work
till it was more of a passion
and not any routine.

I contributed daily
to help the team
meet our corporate goals.

But good work was not valued
often was treated as cheap dirt
triggering acute dissatisfaction.

My work-life-imbalance whirled
my family’s strong foundation,
causing unhappiness everywhere.

My seniors schemed and tossed my role
eventually taking its toll
until I could take it no more.

I quit my 12-12 routine
and here I am having fun
learning to write a Triversen.

__________________________________________________________________________

*** This poem is currently participating at the Triversen contest (@robertleebrewer). A triversen is an 18-line, poetic form developed by Sir William Carlos Williams. The Triversen rules include:

  • Each stanza equals one sentence.
  • Each sentence/stanza breaks into 3 lines (each line is a separate phrase in the sentence).
  • There is a variable foot of 2-4 beats per line.
  • The poem as a whole should add up to 18 lines (or 6 stanzas).
2 thoughts on “I Am Happy I Quit! (a poem)

  1. Thanks dear! Mine was a rather forced decision but a good one though, I think. 🙂 So now I am doing what I love, that is ‘writing’ on the whole and poetry is an important part in it. Hoping to share life’s profound messages through writing! 🙂 Thank you once again for your wonderful encouragement!

  2. Good for you!
    People forget they always have the option to stop doing something — and start doing something else.
    What started your interest in Triversen poetry?

Thank you for stopping by. :)

